PDA

View Full Version : Trick or Treating

Xinnamon
10-29-2015, 03:58 PM
This is NOT a thread on whether Christians are allowed to participate in Halloween activities. :D

As someone who didn't grow up in the US, I have a noob parent question:

What is your trick or treating routine like with your kids, or when you were a kid?

I usually just stay home and hand out candies during Halloween, and this is the first time I'll be going Trick or Treating with the kids. What time should we start? We only knock on the doors of decorated houses with the lights on right? Lol I'm really new at this!

Historia
10-29-2015, 04:36 PM
I don't take my son trick or treating because it was cold and I didn't really feel like it in Michigan. Now that we're in Calfornia, I'd rather go to a church festival, since he gets afraid of scary things and many types of candy he can't eat anyway. So, I can't help with little kid experience.

But growing up, there was a time set by the city when trick or treating began. At that time we'd go door to door and just knock, say the phrase, and hold out our bag. We went to houses that were not decorated (since decorating wasn't really all that common in my hometown), though it was preferred that the house light was on.

mina
10-29-2015, 05:00 PM
I'm not taking my baby trick or treating, bc she doesn't have teeth. But, when I was growing up and what I plan to do is to go around five or six, when it just starts to get dark. We only went to houses that had lights on or decorations in the yard. When I got older, we went out later, when it was good and dark! I plan to take violet next year.

katzankatz
10-29-2015, 05:52 PM
Our city and surrounding cities have set times, but some individual neighborhoods have their own times. Ours is always the last Sunday afternoon of October. Participating people turn on their outside lights.